The pink granite lighthouse stands in the middle of the chaotic rock formations formed by the erosion of cooled magma then shaped by the rain, salty sea spray and wind. Its name, "phare de Mean Ruz", comes from the Breton "Men Ruz", meaning pink stone. The construction of the lighthouse was the result of a petition in 1856 by the residents of Perros-Guirec and Trégastel. Blown up with dynamite by German troops before their surrender in August 1944, the building has not always looked like it does today. Pink granite was used to rebuild the lighthouse in 1948, replacing the grey granite originally used in 1860. The lighthouse was automated in 1980.
A menhir 7.40 m high and 2 m wide stands in Saint-Uzec. Imagine our Neolithic ancestors transporting this huge block of granite weighing 60 tonnes! These megaliths probably fulfilled a religious...
See
This large, traditional "lavoir" – an open-air pool or basin set aside for clothes to be washed – is located on Île Grande and dates from the nineteenth century. Two sources supply it and can be...
See
Be sure to visit the rural hamlet of Saint-Samson, a quiet spot in the country with a chapel, a menhir and a fountain. The chapel, constructed between 1575 and 1631, is a superb example of the...
See
There is evidence of very early human religious and economic activity in this area. Its name, Brenn Guiler, meaning "hill of the Roman village", bears testament to the presence of the Romans in...
See